Fickle form

04Aug08

One day I was bridging across a 1min split in the peloton solo doing over 50km/hr then little more than a week later I was struggling to hold a wheel let alone be able to attack. The buzz that is created by being able to make a bike as fast as 50km/hr is very addictive and it is hard to hold yourself back from putting pressure on the pedals and having the sensation in your legs again and again. Yet like all good things it comes to an end and within the space of a week and for whatever reason the form was gone.

Like a house of cards my form came crumbling down and my knee started to flare up to the point where I was limping everywhere meaning four days off the bike and as soon I was able to go for my first bike ride I got sick with a virus that kept me in bed with a fever for two and a half days.

And so you begin again. Hard training, plenty of rest and a lot of time spent suffering at the back of the peloton. Luckily with the sun shining, plenty of ice tea, some patience and motivation bread from my want to return to the sensations that I had not more than a few weeks ago, I will have good legs within a few weeks.

Enjoying the sun post 6hrs

Enjoying the sun post 6hrs

The only other problem I have is what to do with myself in this waste land of time between The Tour and The Olympics.

I would like to offer my condolences to Damon Bonneys family and friends. He was the gentle giant.

No Responses Yet to “Fickle form”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

