Why you eat pasta??-Rule 7 of European Cycling

19Mar09

 

Cartoon of Team Cinelli outside a cafe

Cartoon of Team Cinelli outside a cafe

 

 

“Why you eat Pasta?? For what? For who? It’s not a stage race. How are you meant to lose weight if you eat pasta.”

Because I am a bigger rider I need to lose weight. For me it is from is predominantly muscle mass from my upper body, however, as a cyclist you want to be as lean as possible. Some of the ways to lose weight aren’t very intelligent and are very “Old Skool.” Dinner on Tuesday night before Nokere-Koerse presented a few interesting ones.

“Hey Nick, you are too fat… Like me you need to lose weight.” Was Frankies blunt assessment, “No pasta for you or me tonight only steak.”

My thought is that I need to eat pasta because I have to race 195km the next day and might need some carbohydrates to help me do that. The European thought is that it is only a 4hr effort (give or take) and so you don’t need to eat pasta after all “It’s not a stage race.”

My other thought is that I need to eat within 30min of a race or a hard training to replace the glycogen that I have used and help my body repair it’s muscles before eating a bigger meal not long after to continue the recovery process. According to some in the cycling game though you shouldn’t eat anything for 3hrs after a race or a stage and in some cases 5hrs.

Frank was also trying to convince me that for three days a week I shouldn’t eat anything other than fruit or salad and I should only eat it at 8am, 1pm and 7pm. Apparently if you are really serious you pick one fruit and that is all you eat for that day.

Personally I prefer modern ideas on recovery and although I want to lose weight I am more than happy to do it slowly.

Nokere-Koerse was an experience in itself. The crowds at the start line were bigger than I have ever seen. The weather better than I ever expected for March in Belgium. Shorts, jersey and undershirt was all that was needed. It was another aggressive race with the break not going until 100km. I attacked a number of times in the first 100km even managing to get off the front solo with a gap before I was stopped by a railway crossing. I didn’t have a gap of over 30sec so it was group back together. At least I had 15sec of fame thanks to the TV cameras.

So off to The Netherlands on Saturday to race Groene Hart on Sunday. Ah the fun of being on the road.

 

Tommy N showing off in front of the team bikes in Lueven

Tommy N showing off in front of the team bikes in Lueven

Me, Tommy S and the Booischot Donkey

Me, Tommy S and the Booischot Donkey

This is what a bike race looks like

This is what a bike race looks like

Start Village

Start Village

Rest of Start Village including sign on stage

Rest of Start Village including sign on stage

 


No Responses Yet to “Why you eat pasta??-Rule 7 of European Cycling”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

