The Beauty of The Bakery

29Apr09

Yes this is a pointless post but considering this is the place that sustains me I thought I should share it with you. Luckily enough the bakery is less than 50m away from the house so it is a short ride by townie to get there. The bakery has the potential to ruin a cycling season such is the numerous treats that can be had there.

 

Fresh bread at 3 in the afternoon. Note the bare racks at this time of day

Fresh bread at 3 in the afternoon. Note the bare racks at this time of day

 

The Bad Stuff

The Bad Stuff

 

 

 

The fresh bread there is awesome but the two things that really keep me coming back are the rice cakes and the chocolate puddings. No cyclist that has been in Belgium for more than a week and tried a rice cake would disagree that they are the best treat ever. The rice cake in particular of an extremely high standard at the bakery and mean I always have a post ride/post lunch treat available to me.

 

Rice Cake... mmm rice cake

Rice Cake... mmm rice cake

Custard filled pastry covered in belgian chocolate

Custard filled pastry covered in belgian chocolate

 

All this uselessness aside Friday is Hoboken. Last year Hoboken was where I had my first really big crash, ripping off a fingernail. I still managed to finish but hurt the whole way to the line. This year I have had luck on my side and my legs are a number of steps up on where they were last year so all going well Friday should be a very different affair.

 

Straight after Hoboken 2008

Straight after Hoboken 2008

 

Saturday I will probably race a kermesse so it will be a big couple of days of racing.

No Responses Yet to “The Beauty of The Bakery”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

