My new boot

13Jun09

My new boot

After seeing the doctor yesterday there isn’t a huge amount extra to report. He took my staples out and I got my new boot. It was good to see that there wasn’t any infection. My leg is now in a boot that acts just like the cast but can be removed. Fantastic news because now I can have a proper shower instead of one balancing on one leg with the other wrapped in a garbage bag sticking outside the splash zone. It also means that a physio can get access to it to start mobilising the ankle joint and I can take it off and do some exercise of my own. Once the staple holes have healed up I can start swimming so finally I get to exercise.

The new boot wrapped around my tiny calf

The new boot wrapped around my tiny calf

My first goal is to have enough movement in my ankle joint that I can ride a bike in a wind trainer/stationary bike with no resistance within one and a half weeks. At the moment I have very little movement and what movement I do have is stiff, foreign and painful.

My ever shrinking left leg compared to the right.

My ever shrinking left leg compared to the right.

Many people have there own view on how long my recovery will take. Everyone seems to be an expert and there views range from never riding a bike again to being back racing by August. At the moment my goal is still to be back in Europe and racing by mid August (not racing well).

Time will tell

One Response to “My new boot”

  1. 1 Magoo

    Hey Mitch.
    You should take up rowing then so you can build your skinny little legs up. Have you thought about doing that sport? I reckon you’d be good at it.


Leave a Reply

