The Second Test and The First Ride

15Jul09

After the all clear from The Doc on Monday arvo and the most important all clear from my physio on Tuesday morning I was pumped to start riding. The plan is to have my power outputs tested every Tuesday on both legs using the SLAM pedals (www.luescherteknik.com.au). This is going to give good data on how my left leg is improving as I work to bring it back to the levels of the right.

Early on in the test

Early on in the test

Pain has well and truly set in

Pain has well and truly set in

Yesterday was the second time we have done a step test. After a lot of pain we have a base line reading for the right leg. The left leg isn’t ready to do a test like that but next week we should have results from both legs. The protocol for the test is based around simple 5min steps of 25watts from 100watts until I can go no further. Personally I think 250watts is pretty good for one leg.

Last step

Last step

Today saw me going on my first ride. What a roller coaster ride this rehab thing is. I was so motivated to get on the bike. Once I got on it, I realised how poor my form was. I loved it but I would have been lucky to have managed to average 25km/hr as my left leg got moving again after nearly 9 weeks of nothing.

Difference in Lag size as I do my first two leg pedalling

Difference in Lag size as I do my first two leg pedalling

On the first ride

On the first ride

Kit, helmet and bike rubber side down

Kit, helmet and bike rubber side down

So although the bone is now considered healed there is still a long way to go in terms of recovering fitness and recovering ankle flexibility. We are half way there.

Lovely winters day for the first ride

Lovely winters day for the first ride

No Responses Yet to “The Second Test and The First Ride”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

