He’s Back!!

08Feb11

Tommeke Boonen returns to his winning ways in the 1st Stage of The Tour of Qatar putting a dreadful 2010 behind him. He is one of my favourite riders and it is great to see him back in form.

 

I have been very lucky to ride some big races with some big pros but no one has made more of an impression than Tom.

 

It was in the lead up to the World Championships in 2009. Tommeke turned up to a Kermese that my team was racing at. As was usual I was trying to get in the early break. I followed an attack that Boonen had launched. I have never struggled to hold a wheel more than his. He flicked his elbow for me to come over him. If it had been anyone else I wouldn’t have even tried. After doing very little work to help him we were caught. The next break went while I was sucking in lungfuls of air towards the back of the bunch. That break stuck. Tom was in it. I wasn’t.

Towards the end of the race the bunch was bringing the break back. As we started to get them in sight it was noticeable when Tom was on the front because the gap grew. Finally the break was caught with 7km to go. Boonen still finished 2nd.

What made it more impressive was that he had done 60km behind a moto-pacing and did 60km moto-pacing after the race. Thats what it takes.

No Responses Yet to “He’s Back!!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

