Measure Twice

10May11

De Ronde van Overijssel put me back in my place in a big way. My legs are good at the moment but RvO was a lesson in riding in the front. A mix of bike handling, confidence, courage and leg strength are all required to stay at the front in a race like RvO. To ride at the back in a race like RvO is a good way to get an early shower.

Good luck seeing something like this in Australia. A trailer full of Derny bikes for the track.

Everyone wanted to be at the front. The first riders were at the start line 20mins before the scheduled time and the last riders were there 10mins before the start. Punctuality isn’t most cyclists’ strong point so you know that there are a lot of nerves when riders start turning up early.

Solomon and Estifanos have a nap on the way to the race

The neutral was a fight that escalated when the flag dropped. I was trying hard to move to the front and stay there. I wasn’t having much luck. A good break went off the front and I was cursing not being nearer to the front. 500m up the road there was a crash that blocked the road. 35 riders were now up the road. I was in the first chase group and was feeling good. However, after 100km of chasing 35secs behind the leaders my legs decided to quit. They only downed tools for a minute but that was long enough to put me out the back.

Check out the mix of nationalities.

After taking some short cuts to the finish line and having a shower I decided to measure my position. My saddle was 1cm too high. This probably didn’t cause my lack of legs but it does explain my sore back and bad saddle sores. Two lessons learnt. Measure twice and fight for the front. I am now back to my normal position and feeling a lot better on the bike. I am looking forward to testing it in the heat of battle this weekend.

In other news there is a race going on in Italy at the moment Stage 2 saw some controversy from the sprint finish. Here is a great article on the rule of sprinting that is worth a read.

Leffe Bruin and Stage 2 of the Giro. (Sunday afternoon)

Whilst on the theme of the Giro and Lessons learnt.

Always let those that you love know that you do and make the most of every day.

One Response to “Measure Twice”

  1. Thanks a lot for sharing this with all of us you
    really know what you’re talking approximately! Bookmarked. Kindly additionally visit my website =). We will have a link exchange contract among us


Leave a Reply

