A Bad Year

03Jun11

So far this has been a bad year for cyclists. Having said that I began to think that everyday a cyclist is killed or injured while riding. Causes are numerous. Car’s, pedestritions, stupidity, other riders or pushing the limits. The last cause I wrote is the biggest reason I ride a bike. I love the mental and physical challenge of riding but I also love the connection that tyre and ground make. This sometimes fragile connection is one of the best feeling you can have on a bike. Wether dirt or tarmac that fragile connection is amazing and pushing it’s limits is a lot of fun.

I have been a fan of Chris Akrigg‘s for awhile now and I was sorry to hear that he had a bad stack. It is amazingly brave of him to post the video of his crash. I wish him all the best and I hope he has a speedy recovery.

Not If, But When from chris akrigg on Vimeo.

On Tuesday I raced Gullegem Korse. A lot of big names were there. Nick Nuyens (who I owe a cut from the bet I put on him for De Ronde), the inform Phillipe Gilbert, Tom Boonen, Stijn Devolder, Robbie McEwen, Zdenek Stybar and many other very storng riders. I had really good legs and was riding really well. I was sticking near my man crush Tom but when it mattered I couldn’t find him. I relaxed for a little bit and was out of position when a break I should have been in went away.

The race was eventually won by Mr Gilbert. Note to self: Follow the inform rider.

Sunday I am racing Tour de Rijk. The action will be taking place in and around Rotterdam. The forecast is for rain and 25km/hr winds. To understand what 25km/hr means I thought I would create a scale. 0-10km/hr: No wind/nothing to worry about. 11-15km/hr Slight breeze, enough to hurt the legs but not enough to make a difference. 16-20km/hr enough to hurt and put riders off the back. 21-25km/hr more than enough to split the bunch.

I have a lot of memories from Tour de Rijk. The last time I was here I had amazingly good legs until I had one really really bad one.

Tomorrow lot’s of R&R, a coffee or 5 and maybe a few more rapha movies.

Rapha Australia rides the Victorian Alps teaser from RAPHA on Vimeo.

I am excited to see the full version. I love the roads around this area.

Great Ocean Road Classic from RAPHA on Vimeo.

Again stunning roads that I love to train on. Now that Rapha have use two of my favourite training area’s I am waiting on them to come for a ride to Kinglake and on one through The Ardennes.

And finally Dirty Deeds had their first cyclocross race for the season. It got me some pumped up knowing my mates were racing and that there was a Parlee CX not being used.

My Supporters:

Cycling Edge

Fetha

No Responses Yet to “A Bad Year”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

